Chase Invest Your Points: Turn Ultimate Rewards Into J.P. Morgan Investments

Chase Invest Your Points: Turn Ultimate Rewards Into J.P. Morgan Investments
Share

Chase opened a new exit door for Ultimate Rewards points on September 16, 2026. The feature is called Invest Your Points, and it moves the cash value of your points straight into a J.P. Morgan investing account instead of a checking account or a statement credit.

The option covers cardmembers across the Chase Freedom, Chase Ink and Chase Sapphire portfolios, and it lives inside the Chase Mobile app and on Chase.com. Outlets that have seen the live flow put the rate at 1 cent per point. Chase's own announcement does not publish a rate, and that gap is the first thing worth knowing before you touch it.

What Chase Announced

Chase's press release, dated September 16, 2026 out of Wilmington and New York, describes Invest Your Points as a way for eligible cardmembers to redeem Ultimate Rewards points for cash and then invest that cash. It names two destinations: an eligible J.P. Morgan Self-Directed Investing account, or a taxable investment account managed with a J.P. Morgan advisor.

Chris Reagan, President of Branded Cards at Chase, presented it as one more door rather than a swap: "Cardmembers already have a lot of ways to use Ultimate Rewards, from travel to cash back, and every new option makes the program even more valuable."

The release confirms which card families earn eligible points, and it confirms that the experience runs in the Chase Mobile app and on Chase.com for customers who hold a J.P. Morgan Self-Directed Investing account. Then it stops. No conversion rate, no minimum redemption, no rollout schedule.

The Rate Is the Whole Story

Every outlet that has looked at the live flow reports the same number: 1 cent per point. That is not a bonus rate. It is the same value the Chase Ultimate Rewards program already gives you for a plain cash redemption into a bank account or as a statement credit.

Invest Your Points therefore does not make your points worth more. It changes where the money lands. The saved step is small but real: rather than redeeming to cash, waiting for it to settle, then moving it to a brokerage yourself, the redemption and the funding happen in one place.

That convenience is the entire product. Anyone reading a headline and expecting a premium redemption rate should reset that expectation now.

How It Compares With Your Other Exits

Chase Ultimate Rewards redemption routes compared, September 2026
Redemption routeValue per pointWhere the figure comes from
Invest Your Points, into a J.P. Morgan account1 cent per pointReported by outlets that have seen the live flow. Chase's announcement publishes no rate.
Cash back or statement credit1 cent per pointChase's standard cash redemption value.
Transfer to an airline or hotel partnerVaries by awardDepends on the specific booking, not a fixed rate.

Transfers are where Chase points earn their reputation. A business class seat that prices at 60,000 points and $3,000 in cash returns far more than 1 cent per point, and that gap is why most people sitting on Sapphire points should not be cashing out at all.

The Chase Trifecta approach exists precisely to build a balance large enough to reach those redemptions. Cashing that balance into a brokerage account undoes the reason you earned the points on that card in the first place.

What Chase Has Not Said

Three gaps are worth tracking. The release does not state a redemption rate, so the 1 cent figure rests on reporting rather than on Chase's own words. It does not state a minimum number of points per redemption. And it does not spell out which account types are excluded, although early reporting indicates retirement accounts such as Roth IRAs are not eligible destinations.

Tax treatment is the other open question. Credit card rewards are generally treated as a rebate rather than income, but moving rewards into a taxable brokerage account raises questions about what happens to any gains afterwards. That conversation belongs with a tax professional, not with a rewards program.

How to Find It

For customers who already hold a J.P. Morgan Self-Directed Investing account, Chase says the experience is available through the Chase Mobile app and Chase.com. Cardmembers working with a J.P. Morgan advisor go through a taxable investment account instead. Chase has not published a rollout schedule, so if the option is not in your account yet, it may still be reaching you.

When Cashing Out Still Makes Sense

There are readers for whom 1 cent per point is a fine outcome. If you hold a Freedom card and have no travel plans, if your points sit on a card that cannot reach airline partners on its own, or if you would rather not manage award availability, a clean 1 cent exit is honest value.

The feature also helps if you were already redeeming for cash and then investing it by hand. Same money, fewer steps.

What it does not do is rescue points from a program you are leaving. Redeeming to cash is final, and a J.P. Morgan balance is not a loyalty balance you can transfer somewhere else later.

Bottom Line

Check your card first. If you hold a Sapphire or Ink card and you travel, keep transferring your points to an airline or hotel partner and leave this feature alone. If you hold a cash-back Chase card, have no travel plans, and already bank with J.P. Morgan, Invest Your Points is a reasonable way to move a balance you were going to cash out anyway.

Before you redeem anything, price the booking you actually want with a points calculator, then check whether one of the current credit card transfer bonuses changes the answer.

What is Chase Invest Your Points?

Invest Your Points is a redemption option Chase announced on September 16, 2026. It lets eligible cardmembers redeem Ultimate Rewards points for cash and send that cash straight into a J.P. Morgan investing account rather than to a checking account or a statement credit.

How much is each point worth with Invest Your Points?

Outlets that have seen the live flow report 1 cent per point. Chase's own announcement does not publish a rate, so treat the figure as reported rather than confirmed by the bank. At 1 cent, a 50,000 point balance becomes $500.

Which accounts can receive the money?

Chase names two destinations: an eligible J.P. Morgan Self-Directed Investing account, or a taxable investment account managed with a J.P. Morgan advisor. Early reporting indicates retirement accounts such as Roth IRAs are not eligible destinations.

Which Chase cards qualify?

Chase's release names the Chase Freedom, Chase Ink and Chase Sapphire portfolios as the cards earning eligible Ultimate Rewards points. It does not list individual card products, and it does not name any exclusions within those portfolios.

Is Invest Your Points better than taking cash back?

On value, no. Both routes pay the same 1 cent per point, so the only thing that changes is where the money lands. The gain is the saved step of redeeming to cash and then moving it to a brokerage yourself.

Is it better than transferring points to a travel partner?

Usually not. Transfers to airline and hotel partners regularly return well above 1 cent per point on premium cabin and high-season hotel awards. If you hold Sapphire or Ink points and you travel, price the award booking before you cash out.

Where do I find the option in my account?

Chase says the experience is available through the Chase Mobile app and Chase.com for customers who hold a J.P. Morgan Self-Directed Investing account. Chase has not published a rollout schedule, so the option may not be visible in every account yet.

Can I reverse the redemption once it is done?

No. Redeeming Ultimate Rewards points for cash is final, and the resulting balance is money in an investing account, not a loyalty currency. You cannot convert it back into points or move it to an airline or hotel program later.

Our editorial integrity

Our reviews and rankings are based on an objective assessment. Advertisers do not influence our content. We may receive compensation through some links; our analysis and opinions remain independent.